Voter Information

Ways to vote in an Election


Vote on Election Day

All Voters

Vote at the Polling Station in your home community.

  • 8 am to 6 pm Mountain time
  • 9 am to 7 pm Central time
  • 10 am to 8 pm Eastern time

If your name isn't on the voters list, you can register when you vote

Special, mail-in Ballot

For students, inmates and others away from home

You must apply to get a special ballot kit
  • Get a Special Ballot Application form
  • Apply as soon as you hear about the election
  • Receive a special ballot kit if Elections Nunavut approves your application
  • Follow the directions in the kit

Mail your ballot early. For your ballot to count, it must reach Elections Nunavut in Rankin Inlet by 5pm on Election Day

Vote in the Office of the Returning Officer

  • 12 pm to 7 pm local time
  • Starts 14 days before Election Day

Ends 4 days before Election Day

Vote in the Advance Vote

(if you do NOT have a Returning Officer in your Community)

  • 12 pm to 7 pm local time

7 days before Election Day

Vote in the Mobile Poll

For People who physically can't get to the polling station

The Poll comes to the voter's home. Contact your Returning Officer or Elections Nunavut to get the Mobile Poll to come to you or to someone you know who needs it

  • 9 am to 11:30 am local time
  • 7 days before Election Day

If your name isn't on the voters list, you can register when you vote

Vote by radio or satellite phone

Voters in a remote location on Election Day

  • Use as a last resort - you MUST meet three strict conditions
  • Contact Elections Nunavut to get approved and to set it up


Your name must be on the voters list